Thames Ditton Infant School

Learning to learn, learning for life

Meet the Governors

Confidentiality Statement: Governors respect the confidential nature of discussions and do not disclose governor business or decisions. When minutes of governing body meetings, Part 1, are approved they are made available to any member of the public who requests sight of them.

Professional Negligence Statement: Advice given by governors at this school is incidental to their professional expertise and is not being given in their professional capacity.


The Governing Body has adopted an open meeting protocol, which is published here for those who might wish to attend a meeting. The Governing Body has also agreed a Code of Conduct, which sets out the expectations and commitment required from members of the governing body.


The Governing Body of Thames Ditton Infant School was reconstituted on 1st September 2016 with a change of status to a Foundation School.


The Governing Body currently comprises a total of 14 governors and associate members who do not have voting rights:


  • 4 elected parent governors,
  • 1 elected staff governor,
  • 1 Local Authority governor,
  • 1 Headteacher,
  • 5 Co-opted governors, and
  • 2 Foundation governors
  • Associate members


Governors are appointed for a term of four years.


There are four committees:

  • Finance and Resources;
  • Personnel (with a Pay Committee from time to time)
  • Safeguarding and Wellbeing
  • Curriculum and Data.


These committees do much of the work and report to the Full Governing Body.


Currently we have one governor vacancy: a parent governor.


There are four FGB meetings in an academic year – two in the first term – and each Committee meets three times during the year. Governors work for the good of the school, providing a strategic overview and holding the Senior Leadership Team to account.


Governing Body


 Governor TypeCommitteeSpecialismsDate of AppointmentTerm of Office (end date)
Mrs Rebecca HicksHeadteacherAll 01/09/2012 
Ms Charissa Fiander-DerryFoundation Governor

Curriculum & Data Committee

Personnel Committee

Co-Chair and Chair of Curriculum & Data Committee20/06/201719/06/2025
Mr Jay BimbrahCo-opted Governor

Personnel Committee 

Safeguarding & Wellbeing Committee

Finance & Resources Committee 

Co-Chair and Chair of Personnel Committee


Ms Hannah EvansCo-opted GovernorPersonnel Committee Safeguarding & Wellbeing CommitteeTraining Governor03/12/201902/12/2023
Mr Matt BowenLocal Authority GovernorFinance & Resources CommitteeVice-Chair and Chair of Finance & Resources Committee01/09/202031/08/2024
Dr Elizabeth Scott-BaumannParent GovernorSEND Governor and Curriculum and Data CommitteeGovernor with responsibility for Looked after and Disadvantaged Children12/12/201811/12/2022
Mrs Sophie FrameStaff Governor

Curriculum & Data Committee

Safeguarding & Wellbeing Committee

Mr Ivo GattoCo-opted GovernorPersonnel Committee 20/09/202119/09/2025
Dr Nitu GehduCo-opted Governor

Safeguarding/Child Protection Governor

Safeguarding & Wellbeing Committee

Chair of Safeguarding & Wellbeing Committee22/09/202021/09/2024
Mr Edward CooksonParent Governor

Finance & Resources Committee

Curriculum & Data Committee

Mr Bronek CarrFoundation GovernorFinance & Resources Committee 30/09/202129/09/2025
Ms Nicki YoungParent GovernorPersonnel Committee 16/11/202115/11/2025
Mrs Isobelle SinclairCo-opted GovernorOn Maternity Leave 18/1/202217/1/2026
Ms Alice SaywellAssociate MemberCurriculum & Data 14/09/202113/09/2025
Ms Sarah WoodthorpeAssociate MemberFinance & Resources Committee 14/09/202113/09/2025
Ms Lucy RaynorAssociate MemberPersonnel Committee 18/10/202117/10/2025
Governors who have retired or stepped down in the last 12 months     
Mr Jeremy ScroxtonFoundation Governor  20/06/201719/06/2021
Mr Richard AscoughCo-opted  Governor  20/09/201719/09/2021
Dr Claire ThorneCo-opted Governor  26/10/201824/09/2021
Mr Rob CloeteParent Governor  31/10/201730/10/2021
Mrs Tania DeanOther/Associate Member  01/09/201816/12/2021
Ms Hannah WhiteParent Governor  04/05/202128/02/2022


Clerk to the Governing Body is Sara Morgan.


Governors must also declare any conflicts of interest in agenda items before every meeting.


Jeremy Scroxton retired as a Foundation Governor, effective 19 June 2021. He was appointed 20 June 2017.


Richard Ascough retired as a Co-opted Governor and Co-Chair, effective 19 September 2021. He was appointed 20 September 2017.


Claire Thorne, stepped down as a Co-opted Governor, effective 24 September 2021. She was appointed

26 October 2018.


Rob Cloete, retired as a Parent Governor, effective 30 October 2021. He was appointed 31 October 2017.


Hannah White stepped down as a Parent Governor, effective 28 February 2022.


Governing Body Meeting Dates for Academic Year 2022-2023